Sicko (2007)

December 21, 2009

Director: Michael Moore

Genre: Documentary

Summary: Moore explores the health care industry in America, comparing its business model to those of foreign countries, in an attempt to discover what makes a good health care system.

Impressions: I feel bad for not watching this for two years… I kind of dropped the ball when it came out and never got around to it.

After watching so many documentaries in my life and studying them, writing papers about them, etc, I can longer look at them objectively. This is because there are two sides to every story, and Moore only provides one side: His side.

There’s no doubt in my mind that what happened to the American citizens who are interviewed in this documentary is tragic; however, Moore frequently misrepresents the truth in regards to American health care, foreign health care, and circumstances in general.

I like socialized medicine, but that’s me. Other people probably find the American system more helpful. I think it depends on your state of mind and body. I think the best thing about this movie is that it made Americans scrutinize the health care industry more carefully, allowing us to identify the real problems with both systems because they were being examined under a microscope called the Public Consciousness.

4 out of 5

Leave a comment